Chapter 3 – Know This When Looking Up

The skies are beautiful.  Often full of amazing flying creatures and human-devised agile transports.  And this is where the previously mentioned starship fits in.  See, the government is constantly developing faster and more innovative aircraft and spacecraft (at great expense to the taxpayer).  And this delivers fierce dangers into the face of every test pilot and any nearby non-pilots.

We really should keep in mind that gravity can bring things down on top of us.  Especially objects similar to rapidly moving starships that use this weakest (but strong to us) of the four cosmic forces along with their own immensely powerful supersonic engines.  In case you don’t remember, the other three among the laws of physics are electromagnetism, the strong nuclear force and the weak nuclear force.  Such knowledge should have been a ready concern for Jimbo “Renegade” Longstreet Carter.  He was traveling at high speed, while being inebriated, through the downtown roads of Atlanta, in particular the non-short ones.  He was a race car driver who’d driven while out of his mind many times before without a single crash (except for that one time in Venezuela during their annual Party-Party-Drive-Drive Like Your Clinically Manic Festival….I don’t know what it’s called in Spanish).  While he was not looking above his car, which was the whole time since it wasn’t a convertible, the starship zoomed low within five feet of his ceiling, spun around, dipped, twirled, inverted and performed other aerobatic aerial movements.  This wouldn’t have been a big problem, other than what happens when one attempts to pull off these maneuvers at 6,734 miles per hour – precise throttle controls don’t always prove exactly cooperative with what the pilot might want to happen when seeking to move it back toward higher elevations.  Thus, the starship unexpectedly dropped right in front of Jimbo’s front windshield before abruptly taking off into the stratosphere over the metropolitan area.  If you don’t remember some of the relevant info from science class, that part of the sky, not only over Atlanta, but also around the world, is the second major layer of atmosphere 30,000–40,000 feet and 6–8 miles from the Earth’s ground level.

When a white Lamborghini Gallardo crashed into the front room of The Wandering Elephant restaurant, I thought this could be my way of avoiding the Marta train ride home (not to mention having to walk an incredibly long way, if one was feeling lazy, such as the fifteen minutes that it would require).  So, I told Jimbo that I wouldn’t act as a witness to the car accident if he’d call an extra fancy limo to take me home.  He was convinced that this was a good trade once I decided to display some of my medieval magical powers in front of him briefly (I learned a lot in 2012 from ABC television’s “Once Upon A Time” and BBC’s “Merlin).  I waived my hand with pizzaz, said “Supawondadupa!”, and immediately the restaurant repaired, time reversed and his car was back twenty miles away and thirty minutes earlier.  Instead of choosing to drive while finishing up a lot of alcohol at another restaurant in town, he was granted the opportunity to call a cab and use his Visa card to pay for my luxurious trip home in a red Bugatti Veyron stretch limousine.  If I’d thought about it then, I would have asked the driver to take me by Natasha’s neighborhood so I could show off and look uniquely splendid before her twinkly eyes.

I actually made most of that up just now.  I rode the Marta home, in truth.  I walked from the station to my home.  There weren’t any wild animals on the way this time.  I can’t remember what I did during the whole rest of the afternoon, but I know that I desperately wanted to take a nap, which I did between about 5:15 and 7:20, right before I had to leave for the sketch comedy show.  Before that, I was immersed in a texting conversation with Natasha, I think (it’s hard to recall my half awake activities).  I wanted to sleep so badly.  But, I also enjoyed getting to know her some more.  How mundane, huh?  Well, I can’t always be insanely exhilarating.

Keep reading.  It gets interesting in a minute.  Wait, it’s already so fantastic!  And, I want to say here, that Natasha’s beauty and dynamic personality came back into Andy’s mind even before the The Wandering Elephant car collision.  The beautiful women at that restaurant had reminded him of her.  How sentimental, right?  I do have a softer side.  It could also be my sensual side.  I’ll let you ponder that if you feel so inclined.  I digress.  For the first time in this logically coherent story, I digress.

And was that the world’s only starship and did it land here?  I don’t know on the first point and I’m sure it’s a solid no on the second.  It didn’t land.  I know that I explained that sufficiently above.  Were you listening?  I mean, were you reading closely?

Leave a Reply

